Playing the Part

Standard

Today, I got all spiffy and rode out to Falls Church for an interview. This time was somewhat like many other times, when I had to go and play the role. Only this time I had more confidence in self, although I still had those worries of articulation. But I decided that I would be myself and just wing it.

But not before I called a friend, who always gets the job! I keep telling her she on to something and should teach classes.  Once talking to her she broke it down to me. She let me know that most interviewers ask three types of questions, behavior analysis/situational, resumal, and goal oriented. So we discussed how each of those could be handled.  I’m going to share what we came up with.

Behavior Analysis/Situational: These are the “have you ever been in a situation where… or tell me about a time you worked in/on…” questions. They ask these to determine your thought process and how you adapt to different environments. Being that they are looking for how you handled it, you should present it in this format:

example + action = results.

So you give them the situation, organization, project, etc. then provide them with the actions you took, and the results that evolved from it. That way they will not have to ask more probing questions.

Resumal: These are the ” tell me what you did with….., it says here that you assisted with….” questions. So with these, you want to be able to discuss and back up every line on your resume. We sometimes like to embellish our resume with upscale vocabulary, that’s fine as long as you can say exactly what you did in the interview. So I’m not saying lie but your job is to sell yourself. Be able to give a response to every aspect of your resume and give insight to who you are as a person. These questions are asked to gauge your ability to do what you say you can do and for the duties of the position.

Goal Oriented: These are the “where do you see yourself in….., why do you want to work for our firm, what are your strengths and weakness.” With these you want to be truer than true. These questions allows for your personality to shine through. They are asked to determine your thought process and your work life criteria. Even the strengths question is essentially utilized to see if you are truthful about yourself. Do not respond, I don’t have any weaknesses, or downplay your strengths. These should be a breeze because they are true to self. You visit these in your head, probably daily.

So that’s my interview spill. We sometimes have to play the part. As long as that role will assist and grow you for the next role, then why not. It may not be all the glitz and glam you are entitled to but if you evaluate and come to terms that it will assist you in another avenue or aspect of your endeavors then take that experience. If there is no growth and it doesn’t lead to another avenue, then move on and find the next.

Today I played the part, and I got the part. After evaluation I realize that this role will assist me with my communication, it allows me to be creative, learn more about presenting the value of a product, service, or a brand, management and coaching skills and closing deals. So I’m going to be open to this experience and see where it takes me, until the next role comes along.

Just,

B.Right

Leave a Reply

